Save Our SBS Inc is governed by a Committee of Management in accordance with the Save Our SBS Inc Rules 2013 (as amended 2016) regulated under the Associations Incorporation Reform Act 2012. Currently seven persons sit on the Save Our SBS Inc Committee of Management. All are listed below.

Steve Aujard is the President of Save Our SBS. His background is in broadcasting, the arts, theatre, and academia. A University of Melbourne graduate, he has worked in the educational, community, public & commercial broadcasting sectors as a broadcaster, producer, manager, and director at board level for public and private corporates. From a young age Steve worked for the Melbourne Theatre Company and later in theatre-in-education utilising his skills assisting in the first Melbourne Fringe Festival. He was also involved with the Public Broadcasting Association of Australia and lobbied for the air-waves to be opened up to community groups. He successfully obtained test transmission licences for pioneering community broadcast stations. Steve was as a Director on the 3RMT Board of Directors (now Triple R). In Victoria he conceived and presented “Afternoon Magazine”, the first talkback program on an Australian FM radio station and a forerunner to programs he later presented on a NSW commercial station. His professional experience spans six radio stations and two television networks. He was employed by the Special Broadcasting Service where his involvement in multicultural affairs extended beyond the workplace to regular participation in a range of community functions and events before moving to Network TEN where he specialised in presentation prior to working with a small team setting up Channel 31 Melbourne (now C31), employed in senior management overseeing budgets, operations, and employees, as well as guiding emerging ethnic community TV producers. As a long time admirer of both SBS radio and television, Steve became concerned with the direction that SBS television was taking in 2006 with lack of adequate government funding and an increasing reliance on advertising, so in 2006 he took a leading role in the establishment of the not-for-profit association, Save Our SBS Inc, where he is currently the President.

Matthew Boon Meng Ng is the Vice President of Save Our SBS. He is a digital communications specialist, graphic designer, political campaigner, and community engagement professional. Matthew is a first generation immigrant with Chinese Malaysian heritage and has spent 12 years of his youth in the Middle East as the son of expatriates. He joined Save Our SBS after working at GetUp’s CommunityRun platform on the successful petition campaign Preserve its Integrity! Don’t Increase Ads on SBS. He has a special interest in youth engagement, intern and migrant rights, interfaith, intercultural and intergenerational relations, industrial relations and trade unionism, and LGBTI advocacy in the religious space. Professionally he worked campaigning for GetUp, in the national office for the Australian Manufacturing Workers’ Union and the Finance Sector Union, and is a founding Board Director and former Deputy National Director of the peak interns advocacy body, Interns Australia. He currently works as a consultant in the not-for-profit sector.

Bill Runting is the Secretary of Save Our SBS. He has a multifaceted background as broadcast engineer, business entrepreneur, and film producer. Much of his professional work has been in the community broadcasting sector generally and engineering in particular at PBS-FM, Triple R, and other radio stations. Bill has served as a director on community broadcast related boards. He co-founded Rockhopper Productions and in past years was involved in the production of documentaries about social injustice, including Fight for Country: The Story of the Jabiluka Blockade, a film about the fight to stop uranium mining at Roxby Downs and Jabiluka. He supports Indigenous rights, has supplied footage to The Freedom Stories Project and produced a number of FM radio TV simulcasts. Bill is a founding member of Save Our SBS and is passionate about seeing an SBS uncluttered by intrusive in-program advertising breaks.


Zach Karpinellison is on the Save Our SBS Committee of Management. He is a graduate of the University of New South Wales with a Bachelor of Arts (1st class Hons). Zach is an aspiring academic and film critic interested in postgraduate study with a research focus on transnational filmmaking and censorship. His professional employ includes work at Golden Age Cinema & Bar and he is a Film Advisory Panellist for the Sydney Film Festival and was admitted to Critics Campus in the Melbourne International Film Festival. Zach is published at Rough Cut and SURG-FM where he hosts Send Moods. He is a proud member of the Media Entertainment and Arts Alliance and a strong believer in a diverse and robust Australian film and television industry. He has a background in political activism and prior to joining Save Our SBS was a student representative on the Academic Board at the University of New South Wales. He continues his interest in other broad activism. Zach believes in the potential of SBS as a multicultural public broadcaster and is committed to the Purposes of Save Our SBS.

Daniel Rodriguez Martinez is on the Save Our SBS Committee of Management. Daniel brings lived experiences of a political refugee from Venezuela fleeing the country in 2010. Daniel is a graduate of the University of Technology of Sydney (UTS) with a Bachelor of Global Studies (Law). Whilst studying, zie was involved in student activism, serving as a Council Member on the UTS Student Association, as Vice President of External Affairs for the UTS United Nations Society, and as a member of the UTS Student Consultative Group for Respect. Now. Always – a program that aims to prevent sexual violence in university communities and improve how universities respond to and support those who have been affected. Daniel was formally Head of Business Improvement for Junior Achievement Australia, focusing on improving and streamlining Operational Systems, teaching young people entrepreneurial, leadership, and financial skills. Zie is also a frequent speaker for Batyr – an Australian NFP that focuses on eliminating the stigma surrounding mental health, encouraging young people seeking help, through the power of sharing individual lived experiences. Daniel is passionate about mental health, decolonisation and a diverse multicultural public broadcaster.


Past Committee members

Cristina G; Jan S; Hayden W; Anne T; Bernie L; Stephen R; Rosie S; Shirley P; Roberto D L; Gwen A; Darce C.